Smashbox O-Gloss vs. Mark Glossblossom (Review & Swatches)

January 20, 2009
TOP: Mark Glossblossom Ripening Lip Tint ($6)
BOTTOM: Smashbox O-Gloss Intuitive Lip Gloss ($22)

When I was in fourth or fifth grade I discovered the magic of mood lipsticks. They were these hideous, candy-scented, forest green sticks of ugly that would would change colors on your lips according to your “mood,” and apparently mine was always shocking fuchsia. The stuff looked absolutely horrendous on me, but for some reason I insisted on wearing it.

Fast forward a decade and a half (give or take a few years) and we’ve got these updated offerings from Smashbox, Mark, and a bunch of other companies–our old mood lipsticks in gloss form! The basic concept behind these glosses is that they go on clear, but then react with your body chemistry to develop into your own customized shade. Since one retails for $6, and the other for a whopping $22, I thought I’d compare the two for you! And FYI Too Faced almost makes a product that’s quite similar (and available in a fun shade of blue from their Smurfette collection).

Mark Glossblossom (left), Smashbox O-Gloss (right)

MARK: So up first we have Mark’s Glossblossom Ripening Lip Tiny, a veritable bargain at $6. This “ripens” into a very pretty soft pink on me, so it’s unfortunate that I’m not a fan. As you can see in the swatch above, the consistency is very runny, almost to the point of being watery, and it feels rather greasy on my lips, a sensation I’m not all that fond of. Couple that with its terrible lasting power and I’d say save for $6!

So how does Smashox’s O-Gloss compare?


Smashbox O-Gloss

Mark Glossblossom

SMASHBOX: Well Smashbox’s O-Gloss Intuitive Lipgloss definitely wins in the texture department. It has a slick, not too sticky but not too runny consistency, contains great ingredients like Goji Verry, Ginkgo Biloba, Pomgranate Seed, and Avocado Oil, plus it also transforms into a pretty shade of soft to bright pink (depending on the day). All in all I do like this one quite a bit, but I’m not sure I’d pay $22 for it.

Next on my list is to try their new plumping version of the O-Gloss!

Leave a Reply

