Mascara Series Part 18: Yves Saint Laurent Mascara Volume Effect Faux Cils Review & Photos

January 16, 2009
Yves Saint Laurent Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils/Luxurious Mascara for a False Lash Effect ($27.50)

Remember my “Which Eye?” post from late December? Well apparently I didn’t since I totally forgot to review this mascara for you! I never did reveal which mascaras I was wearing that day, so here it is at last. On my left eye I’m wearing YSL’s Faux Cils, and on my right I’m wearing YSL’s Everlong. Wondering how the two compare? Read on to find out!

The Claim: Yves Saint Laurent’s Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils Luxurious Mascara achieves an intense, dramatic lash look in a single stroke, for lashes that stop traffic with the blink of an eye. Its secret is the Triple-Film Complex: a film-coating for intensity, a conditioning film for curve, and a fixing film for long-lasting effectiveness.


The Brush:
Faux Cils’ brush applicator combines nylon fibers of varying diameters which are meant to provide luxurious volume enhancement. While there’s onthing particularly wrong with the applicator, I didn’t find myself swooning over it the way I do over YSL’s Everlong. It doesn’t give me the lift, separation, and incredible definition that Everlong’s nubby little bristles give me, though it definitely wins in the volumizing department.

The Formula: If you’re looking for some pretty dramatic length and volume, Faux Cils may just be the mascara for you. YSL’s best-selling mascara gave me some pretty voluptuous volume, but it comes at a price! Unlike my beloved Everlong which never, ever, ever clumps (not even after the tenth coat), Faux Cils begins to clump after the third coat or so. I do love the blackness of the formula though, and of course the great volume and length that I can get with this. It doesn’t hold a curl, at least for me, but very few mascaras do for Asian lashes. As for flaking and smudging, I experienced none–a defnite improvement over the Everlong formula which smudges after an hour or so no matter what I do.




The Verdict: I’d been wanting to try YSL’s Faux Cils for years, and so of course I’d hyped it up quite a bit in my head, which is why I may have been a little let down by how “really good” it was. I was expecting a fantastic, amazing, blow-my-mind with its fabulosity mascara, especially for $27.50, and while Faux Cils delivers on its promises of great lasting power and a dramatic effect, I’m just not wowed. It feels a little heavy, a little clumpy, and looks a little messy, so all in all I probably won’t be repurchasing.

RATING: 3.75/5

Related Posts:
Read Parts 1-17 of the Mascara Series here! I’ve also added a “Mascara Series” tab up top so you have easy access to it at all times!

Leave a Reply

