The Best Foundation You’ve Never Heard Of: Kanebo Sensai Fluid Finish SPF 15 Review & Swatches

January 15, 2009
Kanebo Sensai Fluid Finish (Fond de Teint Fluide) SPF 15 ($50 for 1.02 oz)

You may recall seeing Kanebo Sensai’s Fluid Finish Foundation featured in my Best of 2008 post from last year (2009 is seriously zooming by!); there’s a reason this was one of only three foundations I chose to include–it’s some seriously good stuff and quite possibly the best foundation I’ve ever tried (and I’ve tried quite a few)! My other favorite foundation is La Mer’s The Treatment Fluid Foundation, but since the Kanebo is $35 cheaper, it comes out on top in my book. If you have a Kanebo counter near you, you really need to get your hands on this!


Fluid Finish is a hydrating foundation with a high 55% water content which enables it to sheathe the skin in a delicate veil of moisture. It’s rich in Fuji Sensui water (from Mt. Fuji of course) and also contains Moistened Powder (a unique powder pre-moistened and coated with oil which was an exceptionally soft touch and does not depleted the skin’s natural oils) and Weightless Moist Glow (a feather-light translucent powder with thin flat granules that reflect light evently for a radiant, natural finish) to keep the skin gently hydrated while imparting a silky, healthy sheen to the surface, along with Phyto-Squalane and Rice Extract to gently moisturize the complexion.

I have a super oily T-zone with very dry cheeks, and Sensai’s Fluid Finish, used in conjunction with their Smoothing Water Make-Up Base leaves my skin feeling comfortably balanced and looking naturally flawless all day long.

I have this in two shades: #102 Soft Ivory and #202 Soft Beige. Both work very well for me but I think that Soft Beige gives me a bit more a natural look–but since I can’t decide I tend to mix both.





What I LOVE: Sensai’s Fluid Finish is remarkable in that it provides great coverage (I’d say you get everything from light to medium/full) while maintaining a weightless texture and natural appearance. I absolutely hate the feeling of foundation on my face, but with Fluid Finish I seriously can’t tell that I’m wearing foundation at all. It blends flawlessly with my skin and makes me look like I have naturally beautiful skin, rather than giving me the “I’m wearing makeup” look.

The foundation itself glides on like silk, so there’s no tugging or pulling at your face, and blends away seamlessly, obviating the need for a brush or a sponge.

Not So Much: There’s really very little that I don’t love about this product. It isn’t the best in terms of oil-control, but that’s simply because that’s not what this product is meant to do. It definitely doesn’t aggravate my oily skin any and I don’t notice my face getting as oily as it normally would throughout the course of the day, probably because it’s happily balanced and hydrated, so I’m a happy camper.

Sensai’s Fluid Finish doesn’t break me out, cause hives or irritation (which a lot of foundation do), it’s relatively affordable, and is as close to HG material as I’ve ever gotten. I give this two thumbs up!

RATING: 4.5/5

2 Responses to “The Best Foundation You’ve Never Heard Of: Kanebo Sensai Fluid Finish SPF 15 Review & Swatches”

  1. Jannette Says:

    we have absolutely no access to Kanebo in Australia. Which do you prefer more, this one or the Guerlain pearly white?

  2. *Jen* Says:

    Jannette that's a toughie but I'm going to have to go with the Kanebo. It's just all-around such a solid foundation and really hard to beat.


Leave a Reply

