Mascara Series Part 17: Maybelline Lash Stiletto Ultimate Length Mascara Review & Photos

January 14, 2009
Maybelline Lash Stiletto Ultimate Length Mascara ($7-9)

I know I’ve been promising you this review for well over a month (see this post with my matching manicure!), but as you can see I’m seriously backed up on my mascara reviews! I also have that Givenchy mascara review I’ve been telling you about, along with a few others. But better late than never, as I seem to be saying so often lately.


The Claim: Seductive length, a shiny patent finish, and strengthening + conditioning.


The Reality: I’d say that Lash Stiletto delivers pretty well on its promises. I don’t really notice the promised “shiny patent finish,” but overall this is a pretty great mascara that gives slight volume and really nice buildable length.

The Brush: Maybelline states that its Grip & Extend Brush can grasp each lash and coat it from every angle to achieve extreme length and shine. It just looks like a regular, albeit a little narrower, mascara wand to me! I’ll admit that this is great for reaching each and every lash though thanks to its skinny shape, and I find that I can indeed reach all the inner and outer lashes that I just can’t get to with some other mascara wands.


The Formula: One of my favorite aspects of Lash Stiletto is how it manages to stay put without smudges or flakes for hour after hour, yet removes easily with just a little cleanser and water. I’ve worn this for 15 hours at a time and haven’t experienced a single flake or smudge; and all the while Lash Stiletto feels feather-light and looks great on. It gives a little volume (nothing mind-blowing) and not so much curl, but the length is really beautiful since you can build and build this stuff without it getting spidery. At some point you will start to get a few little clumps but for the most part this stuff is pretty great and sooo much better than the disaster that Maybelline’s Colossal was!




The Verdict: If you’re already pretty happy in the volume & curl departmnet (or you have a great msacara base) and want a drugstore mascara that will give you gorgeous length (and you’re sick of your Max Factor mascaras) I’d definitely give this a try. I will say that I like my Max Factor Volume Couture more than this, but Lash Stiletto definitely wins in the “no flake or smudge” department. Oh and the cute packaging! Who doesn’t want a mascara that looks like a pair of Christian Louboutins?

Ingredients:

RATING: 3.75/5

Related Posts:
Read Parts 1-16 of the Mascara Series here! I’ve also added a “Mascara Series” tab up top so you have easy access to it at all times!

Leave a Reply

