Mascara Series Part 16: Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara Review and Photos

January 5, 2009
Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara ($7.29)

The Claim: Colossal’s MegaBrush will give you 9x the volume in one stroke with zero clumping.

The Reality: Not so much. Yes the mascara doesn’t really clump and it does give decent volume (although 9x my butt!), length, and separation making it an all-around good mascara in terms of appearance, but read on to see why this one’s a dud in my book.

The Brush: One of the things I do like about Maybelline’s Colossal Mascara is the MegaBrush/Colossal Brush. As the name indicates, it is rather large but because of its tapered shape I don’t find it all that difficult or messy to work with. There’s nothing all that unique about it but it does work quite well to distribute mascara evenly throughout the lashes while also separating and building length.

The Formula: The formula is where Colossal begins to go south. When I purchased this some time back I was all excited to try it thanks to the bright yellow tube and the metallic purple lettering, and for the first five minutes or so I was thinking, “Wow this stuff is actually pretty good…”-but only for five minutes! That’s when the massive and incessant flaking begins. Little flakes, big chunks–basically all sorts of bits and pieces of mascara fall into my eyes throughout the day when I wear Colossal, driving me bonkers due to the irritation. Colossal also smudges a ridiculous amount under my eyes; I noticed raccoon in eyes in a record 10 minutes after application!





The Verdict:
I really wanted to like this since it was both affordable and looked really nice on; Colossal gave me good length, volume and separation, and a nice wispy-lashed look but the ridiculous flaking and underye smudging were just deal-breakers for me. I most definitely would not repurchase!

RATING: 2/5

Related Posts:
Read Parts 1-15 of the Mascara Series here!

2 Responses to “Mascara Series Part 16: Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara Review and Photos”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    It did not flake for me at all and was just fine and I've got sensitive eyes. Not sticking up for this mascara but yeah, no flaking here. Guess it IS a very personal thing as they say.

  2. *Jen* Says:

    Anonymous it's so great that this worked out well for you as appearance-wise it was pretty great. I don't know why it drove my eyes crazy!


Leave a Reply

