Drugstore Discoveries: L’Oreal Paris Wear Infinite Pressed Eyeshadow Quad in 218 Accentuated Taupe Review, Swatches, and a FOTD

December 16, 2008
L’Oreal Paris Wear Inifite Pressed Eyeshadow Quad in #218 Accentuated Taupe

While hunting around for Lumene’s Vitamin C+ Energy Cocktail Intensive Care, a product the gorgeous Aleksis had suggested I try, I stumbled across this lovely little quad marked down to $4.95 or so in one of 50% off clearance bins. This was the only piece of non-junk in there, so of course I scurried off to the register with my little treasure! Well more like I scurried and SO trailed reluctantly, grumbling the entire way, to get it for me.

Which reminds me–all the Lumene stuff was marked down by 50% and so I got the Energy Cocktail for less than $10! I would’ve picked up another but there were only two left, and one of them had obviously been opened and tested–gross! One of my major pet peeves is when people open and test products that aren’t testers.


Quad Open–it works out to less than $1.25/shadow!

To be honest I don’t own all that many drugstore items, particularly eyeshadows. I tend to avoid them like the plague because past experience has taught me that they can be chalky, unpigmented, and just all-together difficult to work with. So when did drugstore quad packaging get so pretty?

Swatches: soft ivory, grayish taupe, plummy mauve, charcoal/black

L’Oreal’s Accentuated Taupe quad consists of two satin-finish (ivory and taupe) and two matte (plum and black) shades, making this a great work-to-play palette. I picked up this palette primarily for the taupe shade in the upper right hand corner–it reminded me a little of my MAC Smoke & Diamonds and the texture just looks so velvety and delicious–and it is! These shadows far exceeded my expectations–the satin ones are velvety smooth, and the matte shadows are relatively easy for me to work with, which is saying a lot–remember this matte shadow fiasco?

If you can find one of these in your CVS clearance bins, definitely pick it up! The quad is a serious bargain at under $5 and should you decide not to keep it for yourself, it makes a great stocking stuffer!

Don’t mind the fact that I look like I got ridiculously tan–the weather’s miserable yet again and so I have no lighting whatsoever!


To get this look: Use the ivory shade on the inner half of the eye, then the matte mauve shade on the outer half. Accentuate your crease using the taupe shade, working from the outer corner of my eye upwards then inwards. Smoke out the outer edge of my upper lash line with the black shade, then carry it down to the lower lash line, then top that with the ivory.


Leave a Reply

