Jillian Dempsey for Avon Retro Rouge in Vintage Shimmer Review and Swatches

December 8, 2008
Avon Retro Rouge in Vintage Shimmer ($10)

I have to admit that I’ve been pleasantly surprised (well shocked actually) by the quality of the Avon products I’ve been testing out as of late. I don’t know if it’s that I’ve gotten better at choosing, or they’ve gotten better at producing, but either way I’m loving most of the products that I’ve been experimenting with!

So if it wasn’t obvious, Jillian Dempsey is the wife of Patrick Dempsey (aka McDreamy), a fabulous makeup artist, and a consultant for Avon. This Retro Rouge blush was released as part of her Retro Charm collection, and while I wasn’t particularly into any of the other products, the beautiful pattern on this blush caught my eye.

Love!

This Retro Rouge is seriously the most pigmented product in my blush collection at the moment! I went to swatch it using the amount of pressure I generally use for all my blush and eyeshadow swatches and came away with waaaaay too much pigment on my applicator. I had enough for the two swatches below, and probably 10 or so more. When using this product a light hand is definitely key, since there’s the definite possibility of ending up looking like a clown with this one.

Vintage Shimmer is a warm peach shade that doesn’t actually contain actually glittery bits, contrary to the name. It does, however, have a golden sheen to it that’s very flattering, and somewhat akin to what Nars Orgasm would look like if it would cooperate with me and be more pigmented.

Swatches: Blended a little on the left, not blended on the right.

Although I’m still experimenting with using just the right amount of product, I love this blush both for the pretty factor and the fact that it’s just a great product.

RATING: 4.5/5

Related Posts:
Check out a decent Avon dupe for YSL’s Rouge Volupte lipsticks (and a great product in its own right) here.

Avon’s MAC Slimshine dupe here!

And two gorgeous Marimekko deisgned palettes here–probably my favorite Avon items ever!

Leave a Reply

