Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Invisible Cover Foundation Review and Swatches

December 4, 2008
Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Invisible Cover Foundation ($40)
What it is:
An oil-free medium-to-full-coverage liquid foundation that covers skin imperfections flawlessly while remaining invisible on-screen and in real life. Creates a soft-focus effect, designed to meet the coverage concerns of those in the spotlight. It creates a complexion that looks flawless, even in bright or harsh lighting. This Sephora-exclusive foundation comes in 25 different shades to suit all skintones.

I’m a sucker for rave reviews when it comes to cosmetics, and so seeing all of the buzz on this foundation I couldn’t resist ordering it. But after all my excitement and waiting, look what came in the mail! A cracked, leaky bottle that had swirls of foundation trapped within the inner plastic layer of the bottle (click to enalge the photo)–boooo! I decided to test it out anyway since it’s not like Sephora could resell this cracked bottle to anybody else, and I was only in for further disappointment.

Shade Selection: With a range of 25 shades, you’d think it’d be easy to find one that works, but nope! I’d tested all of the lighter shades at the store: 118 had been a little too dark and 117 much too yellow. I finally settled on 115 as being the shade closest to my natural skintone. Well apparently not so much–it didn’t look terrible on per se, but it just didn’t blend with my skin the way I wanted it to.

The Foundation: First of all, I just need to say “invisible cover” my butt. MUFE’s HD foundation (at least on me) looked cakey and gave me the worst case of “hey look at me I’m wearing foundation” ever. While I love heavy duty coverage, I don’t like for it to be so blatantly obvious that I’m wearing makeup, and no matter how light I went with this stuff, my foundation was most definitely still visible. That coupled with the fact that HD brought my oilies on much earlier than usual = bad. Perhaps if I’d been able to find a better shade-match this would’ve looked better on, but as of now I’m just not a fan.

A small squirt of MUFE’s HD foundation. It has a medium consistency that’s decently easy to work with and blend.

Blending.

All blended in. I feel like it emphasizes all the little lines.

I really wanted to love this but between the cracked bottle and the makeup-y look MUFE’s HD foundation just didn’t work for me. But I know some of you love this and it works amazingly well for you–it definitely seems to be a love or hate thing. On the bright side I still love and use their HD Microperfecting Primer regularly!

RATING: 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

