Skin79 Super Plus Gold Label Blemish (or Beblesh according to Skin79) Balm Review and Swatches

December 2, 2008
Skin79 Super+ VIP Gold Collection Gold Label Blemish (Beblesh) Balm

Before I get down to the actual review, I thought you’d all enjoy some fun Engrish lol! Here’s what the box says:

It is 3 effects functionl beblesh balm. By Adeonisine and Arbutin ingredients which are effective in whitening, wrinkles improvement cultivate more bright and elastic skin. Intercept ultraviolet rays UV A and UV B at the same time and protect your skin exposed from the sun more thoroughly. Abundant nutrition of GOld and Caviar extract cares sin intensively to make shiny, healthy skin.

There’s more but I’ll spare you! Now horrible translations aside, this is really a fabulous (and inexpensive) little product that contains a goldmine of wonderful ingredients. With ingredients like gold and caviar extracts, along with almond oil, citrus fruit oils, sunflower extract, camellia extra, aloe, and a host of other great natural and botanical goodies, how can you not love this stuff?

BB creams are basically supposed to be your miracle product–that all in one magic concoction that will take the place of all your other cosmetic and skincare products. Skin79’s claims to to moisturize, whiten, improve wrinkles, protect from ultraviolet rays, and take the place of your primer and foundation, and control oil–that’s a heavy load for such a small product to bear!

Have I noticed an improvement in my complexion since I started using this? Well surprisingly enough, yes. While my skin doesn’t really look any whiter (that’s no big loss since I’m perfectly happy with the color that I am now), it has been looking brighter, clearer, and all around happier. I began using this when I was experiencing a bad bout of breakouts, and this helped to calm them right down while covering them up. As for wrinkle reduction, well I just don’t know as I don’t have any wrinkles just yet (knock on wood) and I hope to keep it that way for many years to come–and this product at least helps in that department with the SPF 25 PA++ it provides.

A small little squirt of BB cream

When I first squirted some Skin79 Gold Label BB cream onto the back of my hand I was surprised by how thick a consistency it had. As you can see in the photo above it can more than hold its own against the forces of gravity, and at first I had a little trouble getting this to spread smoothly on my skin. The trick seems to be to warm the blob up between your fingers a little and then to apply it all over your face.

Blended a little.

While the product is somewhat moisturizing, I prefer to wear it over my serum and a light moisturizer just for the added hydration, particularly during the colder winter months. This is the last step of my skincare routine, and it provides enough coverage that I don’t feel the need to wear additional foundation on top on those days when I’m going for a more natural look. Coverage is light to medium, and so for full coverage you’ll either need to layer more on or top with a little foundation on those areas where you have some ruddiness, but Skin79’s Gold Label BB cream does provide you with a nice canvas.


I know I mentioned that the product is rather thick up above, but don’t be scared off by that! Surprisingly once it’s all blended into your skin it feels really light and airy and you won’t even notice that it’s there–no thick or heavy feeling on your face at all! The one major negative is that this stuff only comes in one shade (a light-ish beige) and so while coverage is sheer enough that if your skin is light enough you can probably pull it off, it definitely won’t work for those of you who are tanner. For reference I’m NW15-20ish and this works great for me!

I got mine on ebay for just under $20 including shipping and for that price I definitely think it was well worth it!
.

Leave a Reply

