Avon Ultra Color Rich Mousse Lipstick Review: A YSL Rouge Volupte Alternative?

December 1, 2008
Avon Ultra Color Rich Mousse Lipstick in Delicate Pink ($8)

While I don’t have too much of a problem splurging on expensive department store products, I can be incredibly stingy when it comes to drugstore/inexpensive items. I just can’t bring myself to spend money on products I haven’t had the opportunity to swatch/play with, but since Avon’s Ultra Color Rich Mousse Lipsticks seemed to receive decent reviews online I figured it was worth a shot.


Avon’s Ultra Color Rich Mousse Lipsticks consist of a rich, moisturizing mousse core wrapped in luxurious color. The product is super-creamy and glides on like butter, leaving a gorgeous trail of color in its wake. It took me a second or two to put my finger on it, but I realized this lipstick reminded me quite a bit of my beloved YSL Rouge Volupte lipstick #1 Nude Beige. While the Avon Mousse Lipsticks don’t have the same extreme pigmentation that the Yves Saint Laurent ones do, with an additional coat or two you get nearly the same result: a super creamy finish with a beautiful sheen and lips that feel moisturized and wrapped in color.

Swatch of Delicate Pink

Delicate Pink is a soft shade that on my lips is more nude than pink and is ideal for an understated look. Since popping this tube open a few days back I’ve been wearing this literally every day and I’m still in love! I’ll definitely be checking out more shades in the coming weeks.


RATING: 5/5


Leave a Reply

