Mascara Series Part 14: Bourjois Liner Effect Mascara Review and Photos

November 29, 2008
Bourjois Liner Effect Mascara ($15)

The Formula: Bourjois’ Liner Effect mascara contains a kohl-enriched formula that’s supposed to intensely lengthen your lashes while accentuating the roots to define the shape of the eye and create the effect of wearing liner–hence the name. Because of the kohl in the formula this mascara (at least in the Noir stylist shade) really is a true deep rich glossy black that emphasizes the contours of your upper and lower lash lines, and while it won’t look like you’re wearing heavy liner, it does give the look of your having liner under your upper lash line (for those of you who do this you know what I’m talking about).

I love that the formula is nearly clump free, and doesn’t smudge or flake on me, even after a long long day, but because of the intense pigmentation I do find it a little messy to remove.


The Brush: Bourjois’ Liner Effect Mascara has an asymmetrical dual action brush that both lengthens the lashes and intensifies the roots. The ultra short bristles (the top end of the brush in my photo below) allow you to get directly under the roots of your lashes, creating that defined liner effect, and are actually also really great for applying mascara to the rest of your lashes. They create some decent definition although no real length–that’s where the other half of the wand comes in. The longer bristles pull the mascara along the length of your lashes for a more dramatic look.

While the applicator is all-around pretty cool, I have had some issues with it, the main one being that I’ve nearly poked my eye out on several occasions! I tend to flutter my eyes a little while applying mascara, and when your eyes aren’t all that large that can get dangerous with an applicator like this. If you flutter your eyes while using the stubby bristled-end on your upper lashes, the bottom half of the wand will stab your eyeball–let me tell you it’s not pleasant!

My gripes with the applicator are primarily with the spiky end. I find myself wishing the bristles were spaced closer together so that I would get more definition and better length, since the awkward spacing makes for potential clumps and messiness. As for the stubbier end, I love it! It actually gives me lower lashes which is pretty amazing considering I really don’t have any.


The Verdict: While this is an all-around good mascara it’s not my holy grail by any means. Liner Effect gives above average length and really nice volume, but it doesn’t give me that clean, defined look that I’m always looking for, nor does it hold a curl. However if you’re into the doe-eyed wispy-lashed look (which I do some days) this is the mascara for you. Would I repurchase? Maybe just to use on my lower lashes and at the base of my upper lashes.

This mascara will be available at Ulta in February ’09 so be sure to check it out! And if you can’t wait, HSN currently sells two of these for $22.79 here.

Look close…closer! See I do have lower lashes!



RATING: 3.75/5 (no photo for that one!)


Related Posts:
Read Parts 1-13 of the Mascara Series here!

And check out my brief review of Guerlain’s Le 2 de Guerlain Butterfly Sparkle Mascara.

Leave a Reply

