Make Up For Ever HD Microperfecting Primer in #1 Green: Review and Swatches

November 13, 2008
Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Microperfecting Primer in #1 Green ($32)
What it is:
A lightweight, oil-free complexion corrector that enhances the skin’s texture and primes the skin for makeup application.

What it does: HD Microperfecting Primer deeply nourishes, moisturizes, and softens the skin, creating a glowing effect. Creates a protective layer on the skin allowing foundation to glide on easily and last longer.

Make Up For Ever’s HD Microperfecting Primer comes in a range of 7 shades that run the gamut from pink and mauve to green and blue and is an all around great primer for the price. Your 1.01 oz of primer comes packaged in an attractive double-walled slim plastic tube that takes up little space on your already cramped vanity yet really packs a punch.

Shade 1 (green) minimizes redness and is supposedly ideal for those with rosacea. I’ve become accustomed to green primers being a pretty shade of mint green, so was surprised to see the rather unappealing shade of darker swamp green that this primer came in. But hey it works so who am I to complain?

I shot a wider surface area than usual so you can see the difference in redness before and after.

Redness Minimized? Well here’s the thing. Have you ever found a green color-correcting product that 100% fixed your redness? I thought not and this is no exception. The green HD primer gets rid of I’d say 20-30% of your redness on its own, but the real magic happens when you apply foundation over this. I usually apply foundation all over my face and then go back to my cheeks and apply 1-3 more layers of foundation to mask the redness (depending on the day/foundation), but using the HD primer I didn’t feel the need to go back at all.

The Good: I purchased Make Up Forever’s HD primer primarily because it sounded like it was pretty great for my skin. Check out the list of active ingredients!

Active Ingredients:
-Argatensyl: Immediately smoothes and enhances the skin’s surface.
-Silica micro balls & Elastomer silicone: Give a soft finish to the skin.
-D-Panthenol & Glycerin: Provide optimal skin hydration. (+60%)
– Phycosaccharide: Creates a shield that protects from external aggressions and brings stability to the makeup.

When I wear this my skin feels balanced and looks wonderfully smooth. Unlike most primers I’ve tried, the HD primer really creates a beautiful canvas for my foundation to glide over and I really do see a difference. Plus it’s light, fast absorbing, non-irritating and hasn’t broken me out!


The Not So Great: I actually just exchanged the green for the blue because based on MUFE’s primer shade suggestions (on their site here) the blue just seems better suited for my skintone. Well that and the fact that I was convinced that the green left just the tiniest hint of a greenish cast to my complexion. But I’m still not certain whether or not this was my imagination. Check out the photo down below and tell me if it looks green please!

One other complaint I’ve heard from people is with regards to the scent. It took me a few minutes to place the scent, but it smells exactly like Pert Plus! I actually quite like the scent as it stirs up fond childhood memories, but I do no many aren’t too crazy about it.

And one last little quibble–this isn’t really the ideal primer for controlling excess oilies. While MUFE’s HD Primer does help my foundation color to stay truer longer, I’d say that it does very little in the controlling-oil department–but that’s what a good powder is for!

Redness smoothed away! And see the difference in texture?

The Verdict: This is one of my favorite primers at the moment and I can quite possibly see myself repurchasing (in a different shade), which would be a primer first!

RATING: 4.5/5



Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Squalane, Glyceryl Caprylate, Lauryl PEG/PPG-18/18 Methicone, Phenoxyethanol, Ceteth-10, Laureth-4, Ethylglycerin, Panthenol, Potassium Sorbate, Polysorbate 60, Parfum (Fragrance), Argania Spinosa Extract (Argania Spinosa Kernel Extract), C12-14 Pareth-12, Hydrolyzed Algin, Dodecene, Sorbitan Isostearate, Isostearyl Alcohol, Laminaria Digitata Extract, Polyaminopropyl Biguanide, Tromethamine, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Carbomer, Hexyl Cinnamal, Benzyl Salicylate, Limonene, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool. [CI 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), CI 75470 (Carmine), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77288 (Chromium Oxide Greens), CI 77289 (Chromium Hydroxide Green), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77742 (Manganese Violet), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide)].
.

2 Responses to “Make Up For Ever HD Microperfecting Primer in #1 Green: Review and Swatches”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    My face is not bad when it's cool but as soon as I enter a heated room, it gets really red.Will this primer prevent my face from getting red? Or does it only cover red blemishes. I'm not sure how it works and I really would like to try it. Thanks.

  2. *Jen* Says:

    Hey Anonymous!I don't think this primer will prevent your face from getting red because it's overly warm – it's probably better for concealing underlying redness in the skin or minor blemishes. For a better red solution, I'd say try out the Guinot cream I reviewed somewhere on the blog, it's worked wonders for me.


Leave a Reply

