ABS’ Five

November 12, 2008
Make Up Forever Aqua Eyes Collection ($35)
What it does: Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes Holiday Collection contains five shades to create an array of beauty-full looks. Aqua Eyes is a two-in-one eyeshadow and liner pencil that adheres to the eyelids and resists water even under the most extreme conditions, without running or fading. Its smooth texture effortlessly lines the eyes and, by smudging immediately after applying to the lid, it can double as a pigment-rich shadow.

After testing these out at Sephora a week or two back I was hooked! These pencils are amazingly creamy, long-lasting, and come in a range of vibrant shades. I’ve heard that the mini liners included in this set are teeny tiny but I’m still tempted!

Viktor & Rolf Extreme Sparkle’ Eau de Parfum Spray Limited Edition ($135)
Flowerbomb Extreme Limited Edition Eau de Parfum is an intensified expression of Viktor & Rolf’s signature Flowerbomb perfume. In a bottle like a precious amethyst gemstone and dressed up with a bow, Extreme plunges straight into the heart of deep floral accords. Sambac jasmine, osmanthus, and rich vanilla unleash a sublime, sensual pleasure.

While this bottle verges on falling into the tacky zone, I do love Flowerbomb and so any limited edition version of it gets a thumbs up in my book!

Fusion Beauty Skin Fusion Fair To Medium Set ($70 Value for $28)
What it does:
Fusion Beauty SkinFusion’s Try Me Starter Set – Light/Medium is a pair of mineral color products intended to improve the health of your skin. SkinFusion’s Seriously Smart Mineral Make-up & Skincare formula enhances your complexion without camouflaging your natural glow. It’s nutrient-packed with 60 bio minerals (including energizing gold), and a breakthrough Invisiskin™ technology that delivers time-released antioxidants, peptides, and brighteners to perfect your complexion.

Soft Focus Fluid Foundation SPF 10 is a self-adjusting smart makeup with a bio-mineral complex that uses powerful anti-wrinkle ingredients and peptides to revitalize and perfect skin and also protect it with a sunscreen. Brightening Minerals polish skin with mineral smart powders that rejuvenate with powerful anti-wrinkle fighters.

I’m sure we’ve all seen the Almay commercial where the foundation comes out white with tiny little beads in it, then magically adjusts to your skintone. Well I’ve tried it, and let me tell you it was pretty terrible! It was fine at first in that it did pretty much nothing coverage wise for my face, but I let it sit for a month and went back to it and it turned this oompa loompa shade of orange brown on me that was absolutely disgusting. Well Fushion Beauty has come out with something similar and I’m intrigued–mostly by the great price though lol! I’ve seen this in person and let me tell you those little balls of powder are adorable!

Giorgio Armani ‘Maestro’ Mascara ($26)
A patented lash-tailoring and instant-volumizing mascara for a thicker, fuller, and more dramatic eye look. Inspired by Mr. Armani’s perception of the ‘couture eye,’ Maestro seeks to draw attention to the eye by extending and adding volume to the lashes. Maestro’s patented applicator recreates a sumptuous volumized eye look, instantly sculpting lashes with utmost precision. Comprised of 4 combs and 30 teeth for heightened volume and perfect lash separation, Maestro creates a professional and mesmerizing eyelash look.

I saw the applicator for this mascara while browsing around at Nordstrom the other day and being the mascara junky that I am my curiosity was piqued. I didn’t get the chance to play with it at all thanks to the ridiculously pushy sales associate, but I hope to get a better look at this eventually since it sounds pretty amazing to me!


Clarins Holiday Color Collection ($40)
Get beautiful and festive with fashion-forward makeup palettes for lips, eyes and cheeks in three gorgeous assortments that express your every mood this season. Each holiday collection includes 3 Eyeshadows, 2 Lip Glosses, 1 Face Powder, Travel-Size Mascara and Applicators.

Okay so I’ll admit I’m not all that crazy about this one but figured I’d include because it’s a decent gift-giving option for those of you who are already on the hunt for small Christmas gifts. While it’s a decent set, I got something that looks a lot like this but 100x nicer for free from a YSL sales associate and so I’m not too impressed.

Leave a Reply

