Dior Vernis in Black Sequins 905: Review and Photos

October 30, 2008
Dior Vernis in Black Sequins ($19)

What it is: A black nail lacquer with silver flecks. Limited edition and only at Sephora!

What it does:
Dior Vernis in Black Sequins gives nails a celestial shimmer. The raven black lacquer contains silver flecks that make your nails looks like a starry night—they glitter. Dior’s fast-drying, diamond-hard, chip-resistant formula makes sure this limited-edition varnish lasts.

Close-Up of Dior Black Sequins

I hadn’t even noticed Dior’s Black Sequins up on the Sephora site until a couple of readers requested that review it if I had the chance, but since I’m always up for testing out pretty black nailpolishes I was only too happy to oblige! I checked multiple Sephora stores in the city and they were all sold out of this polish (so get on it if you want since it is limited!) so I had to resort to ordering online!

Black Sequins is a true black nail laquer with tons of tiny little silver flecks interspersed throughout. The effect really is like that of a starry night–well if starry nights were actually visible in my area. Since the flecks aren’t chunky at all the overall effect is subtle and definitely more eye-catching in brighter lighting than it is in a dim room, but all in all I love it! The finish isn’t completely smooth due to the glitter, but it’s absolutely and positively not the chunky glittery feeling you get from a lot of glitter polishes. While I don’t get much use out of my Chanel Black Satin, I know this will be gone before I know it!

As for the lasting power, well I’ve only had this on my nails for a night or so, but having been a fan of Dior polishes for well over 10 years I can attest to their great quality. They dry super quickly, have great shine, and best of all are the longest lasting polishes I’ve ever tried. I always manage to chip my manicures in a day or two with other polishes (Essie, Chanel, OPI, etc.) but my Dior polishes last and last.

Okay onto the photos! I did my nails last night in the dark so please excuse the stray marks and messiness (and the not so great photos). I’ll be fixing it up later today!

Click the photos to enlarge and check out the shimmer!


Like I mentioned above this polish is limited edition and seems to be selling out quickly so head on over to Sephora and check it out for yourself if you’re interested!

Related Posts:
Click here to see a nailpolish which creates gorgeous starbursts on your nails as if by magic!
.

Leave a Reply

