Drugstore Discoveries: Merlot Grape Seed Moisturizer SPF 15 Review

October 2, 2008
Photobucket
Merlot Grape Seed Moisturizer SPF 15 ($14 for 4 ounces)

After reading the buzz on this Merlot Grape Seed Moisturizer on various forums and beauty blogs around the web I had to try it for myself, and let me tell you it was $14 well spent! Well I actually paid $15 and change for it, but I don’t feel too terrible about it since mine came with a mini moisturizer attached to the top.

Why do I love this product so much? First and foremost it reminds a great deal of my beloved La Mer The Moisturizing Gel Creme ($230 for 2 ounces) which will great is really hard on the wallet. And of course there are a million other reasons!

Photobucket

If you have combination to oily skin and dislike greasy feeling products, then the Merlot Grape Seed Moisturizer is definitely the product for you. This fun purple moisturizer has a whisper light and fluffy gel consistency that absorbs immediately into your skin, providing you with a slight cooling sensation while lightly moisturizing. And of course with the added bonus of SPF 15 and the wonderful anti-aging properties of grapes seed, this product is definitely a winner in my book.

Photobucket
See how huge it is?

My only complaint about this product is the scent. Their website claims that this product is fragrance free, but either I’m crazy or this product definitely has a distinct and not so pleasant (to me) scent. I do like that it smells a bit grapefruity, but the fruitiness is rather heavily tinged with a chemically melting plastic smell that really gets to me!


Photobucket
Ingredients (you know you wanted to see them!)

One caveat though is that this problem isn’t the ideal moisturizer for those of you with dryer complexions. While this has treated me very well during the warmer summer months, I know that once the weather turns icy and cold the Merlot moisturizer won’t even come close to being moisturizing enough for me!

However since using this my skin has been calm, break-out free, and overall just healthy and happy looking. Definitely stop by your local Walgreens or visit Merlot Skin Care’s website here and check this out for yourself! At such a great price, what have you got to lose?

RATING: 4/5

Related Posts:
For some more budget beauty, check out one of my favorite at-home remedies, the aspirin mask, here.

See my thoughts on La Mer’s latest release, The Hydrating Infusion, here.

For a sweet-smelling moisturizer, check out L’Occitane’s Almond Apple Velvet Concentrate here.

Leave a Reply

