Laura Mercier Lip Velvets: Swatches and Overview

September 26, 2008
Swatches (L to R)
Top Row: Cherry Blossom, Royal Plum, Cassis
Bottom Row: Mocha Rouge, Naked Rose

Laura Mercier’s Lip Velvets ($22) were released as part of her latest Cherries Noir collection, and consists of a series of five rich velvety glosses that skirt the border between lipstick and lipgloss.

The glosses which are applied with doe foot applicators are richly pigmented, velvety, moisturizing, and long-lasting. I was expecting something more akin to Dior’s Creme de Glosses, but trust me when I say these are much thicker and definitely way more pigmented. The shades are demi-matte, giving off the appearance of a rich and creamy lipstick, but with the convenience of a gloss.

As for me, while I love the thick and creamy formula (although it borders on being just a little bit too thick), I’m really not into earth tones and so the only two shades I would even consider wearing are Cherry Blossom and Royal Plum. Overall these are a little too pigmented for me (I never thought I’d utter those words), but if you’re looking for some gorgeous berry or earth-toned lip products these are definitely worth a shot.

Leave a Reply

