Perfekt Beauty Skin Perfection Gel to Go in Luminous: Review and Swatches

September 25, 2008
Per-fekt Beauty Skin Perfection Gel to Go ($17.50)

So I’ll admit that I have a thing for silicone-based products. First the By Terry Light Expert Foundation, then the Hourglass Veil Fluid Makeup and Monistat Chafing Gel, and now Perfekt’s Skin Perfection Gel! Yes I know that someone women run in horror from these types of products for fear of breakouts, but my breakout-prone skin handles them just fine and they really do glide right over enlarged pores and fine lines to give your skin an overall smother appearance (well except the Hourglass).

A tiny dollop of the gel in Luminous

Perfekt’s Skin Perfection Gel is a light to medium coverage foundation that has a very thick consistency. It comes in a range of 5 shades and contains a plethora of skin-loving ingredients.

My take on it? The “to go” version comes in a squeeze tube and my first thought was OMG this is soooo tiny! It’s 0.25 ounces, but for some reason my brain didn’t register just how small this would be while clicking purchase-but suffice it to say it’s smaller than a lot of samples I own.

As for the product itself, I was a little put off by the super-thick consistency at first (it’s like squeezing Neosporin out of tube), but it spreads incredibly well and melts into an easily blended slicioney consistency that feels great on. And the best part? This does an amazing job of keeping my skin matte–it’s probably the best in that department out of all the foundations that I’ve tried. Plus it’s paraben free!

All spread out

You really don’t need a lot of this to cover your entire face thanks to its superior blendability, but coverage is relatively sheer. You can build more coverage by layering on more product, but I wasn’t able to even come close to a level of coverage I’m comfortable with without using a ton of this stuff! This would be great for those who have nice skin to begin with, and just want a product to glide over imperfections and pores and just create an overall smoother surface, but it’s not the best for those who need some help with masking redness/imperfections. .

As for the color selection, I do wish it came in more shades! Luminous was just a tad dark for me, but then again it didn’t really matter because it is so sheer and blends so well.

Would I repurchase? Probably not, simply because it’s rather expensive and I much prefer By Terry’s Light Expert Foundation, or even just mixing my own foundation with Monistat.

Related Posts:
For a great foundation that comes in pen form, check out By Terry’s Light Expert Foundation.

See my comparison of By Terry’s Light Expert and Hourglass’s Veil Fluid Makeup here.

And for a DIY option, see my review of Monistant Chafing Relief Powder Gel here.

Leave a Reply

