Yves Saint Laurent ‘Rouge Volupte’ Lipsticks: Reviews and Lip Swatches (#1, 7, 8, 10, and 17)

September 22, 2008
Photobucket
Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Volupte Silky Sensual Radiant Lipstick SPF 15 ($34)

Isn’t this YSL Rouge Volupte lipstick sampler I received with my Semi Loose Powder purchase absolutely darling? The Saks site didn’t mention what shade(s) were included so I was absolutely thrilled to see four beautiful samples for me to play with. Plus you really need so little of the Rouge Voluptes thanks to their creaminess and extreme pigmentation that they’ll last me forever!

An added bonus is that the included little lip brush made me realize that the Rouge Voluptes are quite possibly the only lipsticks that have ever looked better on me when applied with a brush than applied straight out of the tube. It made such a huge difference for me!

Photobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
Photobucket
YSL Rouge Volupte Swatches (L to R): #1 Nude Beige; #7 Lingerie Pink; #8 Fetish Pink; #10 Provocative Pink; #17 Red Muse

And the lip swatches (if the application is a little messy it’s because I was applying them one after the other for the sake of photos):


Photobucket
#1 Nude Beige

#1 Nude Beige: A pinky neutral beige that for me creates the perfect nude lip to go with some serious smoky eyes. A beautiful, easy-to-wear shade that I own a full-sized version of.


Photobucket
#7 Lingerie Pink
(I’m thinking a little bit of #17 was still on the brush when I applied this because it shouldn’t look this pink!)

#7 Lingerie Pink: Click here for a full review of this shade. By applying this with a brush I was able to a get a much sheerer application, and therefore achieve an infinitely more wearable look! It’s a light milky pink shade that isn’t the easiest to pull off, but if you love the super pale pink lip look, this is definitely for you.


Photobucket
#8 Fetish Pink

#8 Fetish Pink: A brighter version of Lingerie Pink. A beautiful medium pink that can be built into something much brighter.


Photobucket
#10 Provocative Pink

#10 Provocative Pink: Provocative Pink is a bright magenta that gives you that Barbie-doll look. While it may not be for everybody I happen to think it’s a beautiful vibrant shade that’s perfect for a pop of color against a neutral eye.


Photobucket
#17 Red Muse

#17 Red Muse: A bright orangey red that scared me in the packaging, but actually turned out to be quite flattering once on. You can see much more of the orange in the packaging than you can on my lips (thank goodness), and it makes for a great little black dress look.

Related Posts:
See my full review of YSL’s Rouge Volupte Lipstick in #7 Lingerie Pink here.

See how beautifully the YSL Rouge Voluptes blend with other lippies here.

See Nicole’s gorgeous YSL Rouge Volupte lipstick photos here.

Leave a Reply

