Yves Saint Laurent ‘Rouge Volupte’ Silky Sensual Radiant Lipstick SPF 15 in #7 Lingerie Pink: Review and Swatch Plus Tons of Photos!

September 15, 2008
Photobucket
Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Volupte Silky Sensual Radiant Lipstick SPF 15 ($34)

See more Rouge Volupte swatches here.

Photobucket
See how the lipstick shade matches the color ring around the center of the tube?

I know I raved about the formula in this post so I’ll spare you the nitty gritty, but suffice it to say that these are probably the creamiest, silkiest lipsticks you’ll ever encounter. They apply like a dream and simply glide over your lips–heaven! They have a pleasant and unexpected fruity scent and flavor to them that I adore, and the pigmentation is everything that you could hope for–all with the added bonus of SPF.


Photobucket
Mirror on Top of Tube

The packaging is thoughtfully designed and absolutely gorgeous–not a thing I can find wrong with these tubes. Well okay one little thing–the mirror on top isn’t the most attractive, but it’s practical!


Photobucket
A Close-Up View

Photobucket
Swatch of YSL Rouge Volupte in #7 Lingerie Pink

Now onto the shade I purchased–Lingerie Pink. To be honest I’m really not a fan of it at all =X. While I love almost everything about YSL’s Rouge Volupte’s, I do wish that they had a greater color selection. My problem was that half of the shades were too pale/neutral, and the other half were much too bright–is it too much to ask for a soft pretty pink shade?

When I swatched Lingerie Pink on my hand it appeared as a milky opaque pink with white tones to it–not the most flattering. I figured no problem–I have many lipsticks like this and since they apply decently sheerly, they look great on. Not the case here! Rouge Volupte’s are super creamy and pigmented, and therefore the color you see in the tube is exactly the color that you’ll be getting on your lips.


Photobucket
On my lips

While it’s not nearly as scary looking in person (the flash picks up a lot of white), it is still too pale for my liking (although SO and my mother seem to like it), and I’ll probably only be wearing shade #7 with a darker shade underneath to help balance it out.

I have #1 Nude Beige on its way to me, so hopefully I’ll have better luck this time around!

Leave a Reply

