Drugstore Discoveries: CoverGirl Wetslicks AmazeMint Lipgloss Review and Swatch

September 15, 2008
Photobucket
CoverGirl Wetslicks AmazeMint in Everything’s Rosy (~$6)

Photobucket
Swatch of Everything’s Rosy

I vacillated on whether or not to purchase this gloss for nearly two weeks before finally taking the plunge–yes I’m that indecisive! CoverGirl’s Wetslicks AmazeMints contain Crest Peppermint Oil and are supposed to provide a minty breath sensation and lots of shine–two pluses for this product in my book. Unfortunately while the gloss sounded great in theory, it turned out to be not so great in practice.

The Good: I absolutely adore the minty fresh sensation of this on my lips, and the fact that I can actually taste the peppermint in the gloss. I wouldn’t say this freshens your breath any, but it’s definitely refreshing. The gloss is non-sticky for those of you sticky-gloss hating gals, and the tube isn’t ovular so it’s not always rolling around all over the place.

The Bad: While I expected Everything’s Rosy to be at least remotely rosy and pigmented (I purposely chose a darker color because I was worried the gloss would disappear on my lips), it’s nearly invisible on my lips, and strangely turns into a sheer bubblegum pink once applied. Also, while it’s great that the gloss is non-sticky, its thin consitsency makes for a streaky finish that doesn’t want to stay put and never quite looks right on my lips.

I’ll continue to use this gloss because I do love the minty fresh sensation it gives me, but I definitely won’t be purchasing another!


Photobucket
Everything’s Rosy on my lips.
I literally had to apply 3 layers to get it to show up even this much.

Related Posts:
Wondering what my favorite drugstore product of all time is? Click here to find out.

Who knew Wet ‘n Wild made such gorgeous eyeshadow palettes? Click here to see their beautiful i-sparkle compacts.

For a great and inexpensive mascara, check out my review of Max Factor’s Volume Couture mascara here.

Check out two gorgeous limited edition Revlon blushes here and here.

How do drugstore glosses stack up to their department store counterparts? Find out here.

Leave a Reply

