Shu Uemura Rouge Unlimited Crystal Shine in PK 357 S: Review and MAC Comparison

September 5, 2008
Photobucket
Shu Uemura Rouge Unlimited Crystal Shine ($23)

I received this Shu Uemura Rouge Unlimited Crystal Shine lipstick in PK 357 S from Nicole as part of her amazing RAOK package to me. I’ve been using this non-stop since I received it, but haven’t had the chance to review it until now–sorry Nicole!

Photobucket
PK 357 S (Shimmering Melon)

I love Shu Uemura’s Rouge Unlimited Crystal Shines because they come in a rainbow of vibrant hues that gives your lips gorgeous shimmer. PL 357 S is a bright pink with pink shimmer, reminiscent of MAC’s Tropic Glow Slimshine from Cool Heat (comparison below). The texture is pretty smooth considering how much shimmer is packed into this little tube, and the packaging is great! The tube is nicely weighted, crystal clear, and relatively compact making this great to travel with.


Photobucket
Oooh Pink!

I will admit that the formula can be the tiniest bit drying on my lips, but pretty much any and all lipsticks make my lips feel dry after a few hours. The color payoff on these is very nice-not too sheer, not too bright. I’ll definitely be purchasing more Rouge Unlimited Crystal Shines in the future. Thanks Nicole! ❤

Photobucket
PK 357 S on me


Photobucket
MAC Slimshine in Tropic Glow


Photobucket
Tropic Glow on me

Tropic Glow has a smoother, more gel-like consistency than the Shu Uemura lipstick, but I prefer the Shu lipstick to the MAC simply because it’s a prettier color on me. I really love that the Shu lipstick has pink flecks, as opposed to the silver ones in Tropic Glow, and one light coat of it makes for a just-bright-enough pink shade that I love.


Related Posts:
See the rest of my wonderful RAOK package here.

Loved coloring as a kid? Check out my review of Shu Uemura’s Tri Color Eye Pencil here, accompanied by a pretty EOTD.

Read my review of Shu Uemura’s Depsea Waters here, then see how they stack up to more affordable facial mists here.

Leave a Reply

