Mascara Series Part 7: Chanel Exceptionnel de Chanel Intense Volume and Curl Mascara Review & Photos

August 19, 2008
Photobucket
Exceptionnel de Chanel Intense Volume & Curl Mascara-$28
Thanks so much to Nicole for sending this to me-you’re the best!!!

Photobucket


Photobucket
Exclusive Patented Brush (click to enlarge)

“Derived from a new technology, the SCULPT-VOLUME brush features 3 brush sides and 3 combs. The brush sides create intense volume on the lashes, while the combs curl and separate lashes to the extreme.”

Can you say clever? LOVE the brush–it’s pretty cool in the close-ups! Check out how the combs zig-zag,and how the rows alternate between combs and brush bristles.


Photobucket

“The creamy formula is enriched with the VOLUM-PLAST complex. Its volumizing agent combines mineral waxes and beeswax with cellulose microbeads to coat and dose lashes with intense colour. The plasticizing agents, derived form a blend of polymers, sculpt the lashes, set their curl and provide optimum resistance to humidity and heat.”

Photobucket

Overall Chanel has another winner in this mascara (see my thoughts on Chanel Inimitable here). No it’s not perfect, nor is it the best mascara out there, but the one MAJOR thing it has going for it is that the boyfriend absolutely loves the way it looks on me. While I wear makeup to please myself, what more could I ask for out of a mascara?

The Pros: Thanks to this mascara’s rich formula, one to two coats is all I need for a dramatic look making for a super-quick application. Exceptionnel de Chanel gives me intensely black lashes, pretty dramatic volume, no smudging or flaking, and good length all in a sleek black tube.

The Cons: While it has the word “curl” in the name, Exceptionnel tends to undo my curl after the third coat. It may just be that I like to have an unnaturally dramatic curl, but regardless Exceptionnel doesn’t do the best job holding it. It does, however, create a pretty natural curl to the lashes, so if you’re worried that this will give you stick straight lashes, don’t be. Also, after the third coat or so this tends to get a little clumpy.

Verdict: The more I use this, the more I love it and I can easily see this becoming an everyday staple. Definitely worth checking out–thanks again Nicole!!! It took awhile for me to get the hang of the twirling technique you’re supposed to employ using the brush, but now that I have this is my go-to mascara on those busy mornings! What I would need 3-4 coats of mascara for Exceptionnel can give me in 2 quick swipes.



RATING: 4/5



Related Posts:

See what other exceptional products Nicole got me here.

Click here to read the entire Mascara Series, which includes reviews of:

See the mascaras that I’m currently using here.

Check out Chanel’s 2008 Summer collection here-one of my first blog posts!

Have you tried Chanel’s Ombre D’eau Fluid Iridescent Eyeshadows? Read more about them here.

Leave a Reply

