Etude House Pore Erasing Peach Base: Review and Swatches (you know you’ve been waiting for this!)

August 8, 2008
Photobucket
Etude House Pore Erasing Peach Base in Peach (left) and Mint (right), plus an Etude House nail polish and lots of other samples!

Photobucket
Aren’t the boxes darling? They got a little crushed on the trip here from Korea but I still love them!

Photobucket

I first got to try Etude House’s Pore Erasing Peach Base thanks to Taryn who was generous enough to send me a few samples–I’d been whining about not having access to this for AGES!!

Etude House is readily available in Korea, but unfortunately for those of us in the US, the only place I’ve found it is on ebay, and for an exorbitant mark-up! I love my cosmetics, but not enough to pay triple or more for them. So when my cousin told me she’d be visiting from Korea, of course I asked her to bring me two of these-one in each shade =D


Photobucket
Etude House Pore Erasing Peach Base in Peach

Photobucket
Etude House Pore Erasing Peach Base in Mint

I’d have to say the best part of Etude House’s Pore Erasing Peach Base (next to its absolutely heavenly scent) is the price–11,000 won, which is approximately $10. Where can you get a great jar of great primer for $10?!

The Pore Erasing Base has a thick putty-like consistency, meaning it’s not something you can just scoop out of the jar with your fingers–you really do need to use the included spoon. The package recommends that you warm a small amount on the back of your hand before applying, and I’ve found that this is the best way to create a smooth and even canvas. Once warmed it applies like a charm, since it has the siliconey consistency that I love in primers.

Like I mentioned before, the scent is absolutely heavenly-like a scrumptious peach! I know that cosmetics are supposed to make us look prettier, but for me they’re an all-around sensory experience!


Photobucket
The included spoon and enough Pore Erasing Base (in Mint) to cover my entire face (actually a little too much!).

Photobucket
Warming it on the back of my hand. In case you’re curious, the Mint isn’t any better for concealing redness than the Peach is, so if you don’t have it you’re not missing out on anything!

Now onto the actual “pore erasing” aspect of it. The base is great if you’ve got small to medium-ish pores–it’ll glide right over them, creating a seamless smooth surface. BUT if you also happen to have some monster pores like I do, this base sinks right into those suckers, which really isn’t the most attractive look! But I can’t really say that that’s a flaw of this base alone, since all primers do that to my larger pores =X

Two additional caveats I have are (1) that you need to blend really well, and (2) if you have dry skin, this will probably emphasize your dryer patches. The first few times I used this I made the mistake of not ensuring that it was completely blended in, and it left streaky white marks that were pretty difficult to rub off once dry.

Also, unless you happen to go for the pasty look, I wouldn’t wear this on its own since both the Peach and the Mint shades lend your face a white-ish cast that isn’t all that natural. However, because they are a bit opaque, they’ll help to conceal any redness you may have, which is always great for those with rosy cheeks like me!

Overall this is a great primer for a bargain price, and with cute packaging to boot! I’ve never been entirely satisfied with any primer I’ve tried, and Etude House’s is no exception but I’d say this is amongst the best, and definitely the cheapest by far! If you have access to this, I’d highly recommend checking it out for yourself.

Related Posts:
I haven’t had the chance to review many primers on this blog, but check out a review of one that I love (but can’t quite afford) here.

I love Korean cosmetics, and one of my current favorite brands is Clio-see my review of their blush here, and their eyeshadow palette here.

Have you heard of Laneige? It’s another great Korean line of cosmetics–see my review of their Ideal Glossy Rouge here.

See what other amazing goodies Taryn sent me here.

Majolica Majorca makes some great products for even greater prices-see two of my favorites here and here.

2 Responses to “Etude House Pore Erasing Peach Base: Review and Swatches (you know you’ve been waiting for this!)”

  1. wy Says:

    Im considering to buy this one but I have a rather dry and sensitive skin so I dont know if this product will do any good to my skin..

  2. *Jen* Says:

    Wy this seems to work well for all skin types, although I'd definitely moisturize well prior to application if your skin is very dry as this can definitely emphasize any dryness you might have.


Leave a Reply

