Have You Clicked Your Way Over to Stila Lately?

August 7, 2008

While I’ve never been too big of a Stila fan, these two products have definitely caught my eye. Stila’s Hydrating Finishing Powder-$32 (pictured above-it’s pretty no? if not a little clunky) is a finely milled powder formulated to absorb oil and protect your complexion while providing lightweight sheer coverage. It contains micro-encapsulated ectoin which provides time-released hydration, and meadow seed extract which provides antioxidant protection. I don’t really know how a powder would both absorb oil while providing moisturization, but I’m rather curious to find out! Well not curious enough to replace my La Mer–but still curious =P

It’s available in one shade, which in my opinion is never the greatest idea. There’s no way that one shade of powder works for every skintone!

Stila’s Illuminating Treatment Powder is another product available in one shade only. This one was an Asia exclusive at some point, but is now available in the US-only through Stila’s site though! Being Asian myself, I’m always interested in trying out products specially formulated for Asian complexions, but at $45 this is a bit of a pricey gamble since I’ve heard next to nothing about it.

“This mineral-based loose powder makes any complexion look luminous and feel fresh! The unique formula contains micro-encapsulated water that instantly cools the skin, and grape seed extract which provides rich anti-oxidant protection. Apply illuminating treatment powder over a bare skin or wear over any stila foundation for enhanced luminosity! Appropriate for all skin types.”

It sounds a lot like Prescriptives’ powder which I’ve heard also has a “cooling” water-like feel to it. I’m rather tempted to give this a try, but has anybody else noticed that in the stock photo the powder looks suspiciously orange and oompa-loompa-like? Definitely not the look I’m going for!

If you’ve tried these products for yourself or seen/heard of them I’d love to learn more!

Leave a Reply

