Mascara Series Part 6: Givenchy Phenomen’Eyes Mascara Review and Photos

July 24, 2008
Photobucket
Givenchy Phenomen’Eyes Mascara: $27

Photobucket

Photobucket
Close Up of the “Sphere”

I purchased Givenchy’s Phenomen’Eyes Mascara solely for the novelty factor. I’ve heard people compare the brush design to everything from a sea urchin to body parts which shall not be mentioned (*cough* phallic), and I had to see for myself if this mascara was just another gimmick or would actually deliver.

Photobucket
Another View

And the verdict? As the name indicates, the results are pretty phenomenal! (scroll waaaay down to see what it looks like on)

What it does:Givenchy Phenomen’eyes Mascara perfectly curls and separates lashes. It has a high-tech, patented round sphere at the tip of the precision wand that reaches every lash and adapts to all eye shapes. It’s a Sephora exclusive.What else you need to know:The result? A beautifully fanned-out panoramic effect, holding the curve of your lashes perfectly in place.”

Phenomen’Eyes in Phenomen’Black is a deep, rich glossy (albeit a little on the wet-side which can be annoying) black that gives your lashes the depth and definition they need, especially if they’re thin and sparse like mine, minus any crunchiness, spider legs, flaking and smudging (and 99% of mascaras smudge on my and give me raccoon eyes after an hour or two). The spherical wand and the spikey rubber bristles allow for precise application and truly make it easy to reach every little last lash, from the outer corners to the inner corners (although it tends to pick up a little too much product each time you pull it out of the tube).

This is literally the first mascara with which I’ve been able to apply mascara to all four or so of my bottom lashes (don’t laugh at me! MA’s at counters LOVE to comment on how I have ZERO lower lashes)! By holding the wand vertically I was able to push up at me lashes and achieve some curl, while using it horizontally let me reach the extreme inner corners of my eyes

Photobucket
How to Apply

I thought the size and shape of the applicator would make for a mascara disaster, but it actually wasn’t too terrible! A few swipes of the spherical ball applicator and you’ve got great length, color, and volume, plus it even holds a curl pretty decently (although not as well as my Chanel Inimitable)!

Updated to add my gripes with this product. Volume takes a few coats to build and by the time you get the length and volume you want, most of your curl will be gone. You’ll still have a slight curve to your lashes, but not the extreme curl that I like. And the product can get a little clumpy with additional coats if you’re not careful. Plus I slept with this on last night and woke up to find that my lashes had glommed together to form 4 uber-lashes–really strange!

I was extremely skeptical about succumbing to the allures of the ball applicator, but I’m pretty impressed. While I’ve had a lot of luck finding mascaras that give amazing length, none have ever given me much in the way of volume, so to find one that literally does everything (plus has a cool applicator) is pretty amazing! I still don’t know if this product will replace my beloved YSL Everlong or Chanel Inimitable, but it’s giving them a run for their money!

Photobucket
Straight out of the shower!

Photobucket
Eyeshadow and curled lashes
…………………………………………………………………………………………

Photobucket
With Givenchy Phenomen’Eyes Mascara

Photobucket
Doesn’t it look phenomenal?

RATING: 3.5/5

Related Posts:
Check out the rest of the mascara series here (featuring reviews of Diorshow, Chanel Inimitable, YSL Everlong and more)!

You only have a few more days to enter my Giveaway for the Month of July!

2 Responses to “Mascara Series Part 6: Givenchy Phenomen’Eyes Mascara Review and Photos”

  1. *Jen* Says:

    Tavia this mascara is a great (albeit a bit time-consuming) way to add some fun to your daily makeup routine. I do quite enjoy it although it's far from perfect.

  2. *Jen* Says:

    Hi Court! Glad you found your way over here and I'm so happy to hear you've been enjoying your visit so far!


Leave a Reply

